Rancho Alegre Interview - Gilberto Perez


All interviews and homenajes are property of Rancho Alegre Radio. Any reposting, reproduction or retransmission on any platform without crediting Rancho Alegre Radio and without our written permission is prohibited.
**If you want to play our interview on your station, just ask us (info@ranchoalegreradio.org). If you repost our article, just credit us. That's all we ask.**


Our trip to the valley was remarkable, no question. And it was the starting point for everything that has happened so far in 2012, especially our festival.

Our interview with Gilberto Perez was just as rich in conjunto history as we imagined it would be. But we didn’t expect him to have a conjunto museum behind his house…

Gilberto organized all of the photos he ever took with his friends and fellow musicians over the years and has them all framed and hanging on the walls. He has all of his accordions in a glass case. And everything has a label. There’s a lifesize stand up photo of him in front of all of his 45 records. The wooden bench on the porch has a wooden sign engraved with “made by Ruben Vela.”

Gilberto and his wife are very gracious people, and even though he may seem quiet and reserved, Gilberto has a dry sense of humor that kept making Piper laugh. We hope you enjoy our interview with a remarkable man and great musician. 

Track Listing: 
  1. Madre Querida
  2. Vida de Vago (with Ruben Vela & Ramon Medina)
  3. La Noche Que Llore (with Ruben Vela & Ramon Medina)
  4. Al Pie De Un Crucificio
  5. El Burro Pardo
  6. La Mesera
  7. Cuando Estoy Contigo
  8. El Quelite (with Ruben Naranjo)
  9. Homenaje a Ruben Naranjo
  10. Oye Amigo (with Little Joe)
  11. Cuatro Copas (with Little Joe)
  12. Long Tall Texan
  13. Morena Morenita (with Los Dos Gilbertos)
  14. Amigo Del Alma (with Mariachi Estrella)
  15. La Rosa De Oro
  16. Mis Parpados (Live)
  17. Viva Seguin
  18. Los Carnales
  19. Con Cartitas
  20. El Drogadicto
  21. Mi Casa Nueva
  22. La Carta De Iraq
  23. El Dia De Tu Boda
  24. Yo Y La Botella
  25. Mi Ultimo Deseo

Spread the Word about Rancho Alegre Radio